Skip to main content

SPRING Award Winners

Winners of the 16th SPRING (December 2022)

Winners of the 15th SPRING (August 2022) competition:

  • Alex Scoffield, School of Geography. PhD: Ice-contact lakes and their influence on Himlayan glacier evolution
  • Jessica Payne, School of Earth and Environment, SENSE CDT. PhD: Characterising Iran’s rapidly subsiding regions using Earth Observation data
  • Zhe Zhan, School of Civil Engineering. PhD title: The impact of flooding on onsite sanitation – new approaches to predict environmental contamination and health impacts

Winners of the 14th SPRING (Dec 2021) competition:

  • Angela Bayona Valderrama, School of Civil Engineering. PhD topic: Hidden Failures: assessing public health risks in intermittent water supply systems
  • Francis Dent, School of Mechanical Engineering. PhD topic: Design and Frabrication of Biomimetic Micro-Nanopatterned Surfaces using Fluid Based Self Assembly
  • Alejandra Maria Zazueta Lopez, School of Geography. PhD topic: Impacts of Coastal Eutrophication on benthic ecosystems
  • Alma Palacios Marin, School of Design. PhD topic: Effect of material and structural parameters on the release of fragmented microfibre pollution from textiles.

Winners of the lucky 13th SPRING (June 2021) competition. 

  • Manal Al Balushi, School of Geography, Flood processes in ephemeral catchments, Dhofar Governorate, The Sultanate of Oman
  • Harrison Laurent School of Physics and Astronomy, The Biological Role of Water in Extreme Conditions
  • Mariam Zaqout,School of Engineering, The Political Economy of Sanitation; driving incentives for more sustainable sanitation services in low and middle-income countries
  • Dewa Ayu Putu Eva Wishanti, School of Politics and International Studies, The Impact of Foreign Aid on Water Governance in Indonesia: A Case Study of Fragmented Water Service Reform

The winners of the 12th SPRING (June 2020) competition

  • Liam Taylor, School of Geography, Using a new generation of remote sensing techniques to monitor Peru’s mountain glaciers.
  • Meena Menon, School of History, Social Movements and Local Sovereignty in the Age of Transnational Capital and Ecological Devastation in Postcolonial India.

The winner of the 11th SPRING (December 2019) competition

  • Murat Okumah, (Sustainability Research Institute), Mitigating diffuse water pollution from agriculture: An interdisciplinary approach using behavioural and catchment science.

The winners of the 10th SPRING (June 2019) competition:

  • Alesia Ofori (School of Politics and International Studies) The Political Ecology of Water-Mining Nexus in Ghana
  • Jenna Sutherland(School of Geography) Control of proglacial lakes on outlet glacier dynamics in New Zealand

The winners of the 9th SPRING (December 2018) competition:

  • Daniel Warren (Faculty of Biological Science) The Ecological Impact of Invasive Freshwater Predators upon Native Amphibians
  • Murat Okumah (School of Earth and Environment) Effects of Land Manager Awareness on Mitigating Diffuse Pollution: An Interdisciplinary Approach Using Behavioural and Catchment Science
  • Sarah Fell (School of Geography) Alpine river ecosystem response to glacier retreat

The winners of the 8th SPRING (June 2018) competition:

  • Sarah Letsinger (School of Geography) Occurrence and Effects of Pharmaceuticals in Estuaries
  • Myrna Barjau Pérez Milicua (Faculty of Biological Science) Impacts of drought and warming on structure and function of invaded and non-invaded freshwater ecosystems.
  • Oloyede Adekolurejo (Faculty of Biological Science) Effects of cyanobacterial toxins on the biodiversity structure and ecosystem functioning in freshwater systems

The winners of the 7th SPRING (Dec 2017) competition:

  • Benjamin Pile (Faculty of Biological Sciences) Combined impacts of parasites and climate change on the vital freshwater ecosystem process of detritivory

The winners of the 6th SPRING (June 2017) competition:

  • Sarah Letsinger (School of Geography) Occurrence and Effects of Pharmaceuticals in Estuaries
  • Marie Arnaud (School of Geography) The belowground carbon and hydrological dynamics of natural and restored mangrove forest
  • Andrea Aiello (School of Civil Engineering) Biofiltration systems for optimised stormwater management in urban areas

The winners of the 5th SPRING (Dec 2016) competition:

  • Blandine Boeuf (School of Earth and Environment) – Cost-Benefit Analysis and Economic Tools in European Water Planning: Comparing the Implementation of EU Water Framework Directive in France and England
  • Daniel Warren (Faculty of Biological Science) – Predicting the Ecological Impact of Invasive Freshwater Predators upon Native Amphibian Populations
  • Lawrence Eagle (School of Geography) – Ecosystem response to extreme summer flooding in Glacier Bay, Alaska

The winners of the 4th SPRING (June 2016) competition:

  • Philippa Hill (School of Design) – Water repellency in outdoor apparel: consumer use, maintenance and physiological wear comfort
  • Zak Mitchell (Faculty of Biological Science) – Dragon Flight: How does flight ability affect macroecological patterns?

The winners of the 3rd SPRING (Dec 2015) competition:

  • Lawrence Eagle (School of Geography) – Extreme summer flooding and ecosystem processes in Glacier Bay, Alaska
  • C. Scott Watson (School of Geography) – Ice cliff, supraglacial pond and water storage dynamics in the Everest Region of Nepal

The winners of the 2nd SPRING (Jun 2015) competition:

  • Vicki Betts (School of Earth and Environment – Sustainability Research Institute) – Enhancing resilience in forest ecosystems and adjacent communities in the Eastern Arc Mountains: developing a new social-ecological network model
  • Nigel Taylor (School of Biology) – Developing tools for the risk assessment of invasive species
  • Gillian Park (School of Fine Art, History of Art and Cultural Studies) – The Pavilion Women’s Photography Centre 1983-93: deciphering an incomplete feminist project
  • Margaret Oseigbowa Imonikhe (School of Civil Engineering) – Asset management: A way forward to improving the performance of urban water utilities in Nigeria

The winners of the first SPRING (Dec 2014) competition:

  • Nick Roxburgh—Opportunities and Barriers for Multi-Use Water Systems in Rural Nepal
  • Blandine Boeuf—Cost-Benefit Analysis and Economic Tools in European Water Planning: Comparing the Implementation of the EU Water Framework Directive in France and the UK
  • Hifza Johar—Probabilistic Assessment of Geogenic Arsenic Exposure and Attributable Health Risks
  • C. Scott Watson—Supraglacial lake and water storage dynamics in the Everest Region of Nepal