Winner in Research Culture and Engaged for Impact Awards

water@leeds has won First Prize in the category Personal Development, Reward, and Recognition  in the University’s inaugural Research Culture and Engaged for Impact Awards.

Winners and runners-up were presented with their awards during a campus showcase on Tuesday 19 July, hosted by our Chancellor, Professor Dame Jane Francis, and Professor Nick Plant, Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Research and Innovation.

The Personal Development, Reward and Recognition category recognises the importance of developing and rewarding others. The focus is on the often-unrecognised contributions that people make in developing our culture, including those who support the development of others.

We were particularly delighted to receive this award for the instigation of the Water Woman Award and its associated career development initiatives. Our Water Woman Award winning team members are: Professor Clare Woulds, Professor Julia Martin-Ortega, Dr Gabriela Lopez Gonzalez, Ann Marie Boyle and Dr Susannah Hopson.

The Water Woman Award was launched in September 2019, and was the initiative of Professor Julia Martin Ortega, Associate Director, water@leeds. The aim of the Water Woman Award is to recognize the achievements of women in Science, and their power to inspire others. 

The Water Woman Award is supported by the water@leeds management team in partnership with faculty Athena Swan representative Prof Clare Woulds.  To date the award has recognised the work of 16 women working in water research at different career stages and also those working in research support.  Read more about our 2020 winners and our 2021 winners.

A key element of the Water Woman Award, is the Inspirational Programme of participatory events led by our winners which provides a platform to share lessons learned, and also provide a space for the stories of Water Women to inspire others.

We were delighted to be among many applications highlighting the broad spectrum of world-changing research at Leeds, and to join in the recognition of the amazing work being undertaken by a wide range of colleagues across the University’s vibrant research community.